EMS Ambulance

Calhoun County EMS

*Main office in Rockwell City, Iowa*

Our Mission/Vision
Calhoun County Emergency Medical Services envisions a future where emergency medical providers will be integrated into the health care system for purpose of:

  • Providing the best and most efficient care for acute injury/illness
  • Preventing injury/illness within the community (general population)
  • Maximizing resources (Pub Health, EMS, Hospital) for treatment of non-acute injury/illness
  • Emergency Medical providers continue to be a vital Public Safety link between community and definitive treatment of acute injury/illness.

Calhoun County EMS was commissioned by the Board of Supervisors to begin caring for patients in the Calhoun County area on July 1, 2007.

National Scope of Practice
The National Scope of Practice consists of four levels, Emergency Medical Responder, Emergency Medical Technician, Advanced Emergency Medical Technician, and Paramedic. These four levels were developed to serve the diverse needs of the nation while remaining practical for the development of educational guidelines, teaching material, and certification examinations. The levels have distinctive differences in skills. The Scope of Practice Model cautions against migrating skills from higher levels to lower levels. While a skill itself may be simple to perform, the knowledge behind the application of the skill may be much more complex (NHTSA 2007).

Notification system is now RAVE Alert for Calhoun County   Click to Sign up  | Read about it here

Check out our AED Loaner Program

Please like Calhoun County Emergency Medical Services on Facebook to stay informed of what is happening and upcoming events.